top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDarragh Kennedy

Gear Review 1: Outdoor Research Helios Sun Hat

Updated: Aug 10, 2022



Price: $38.00 (available for less) Rating: 7/10

MM's Bottom line: Good for shade, but lacking in ventilation

I have always been a baseball cap wearing hiker, but as of late I prefer more sun protection. I had my eye on the Tilley LTM6 but it didn't seem compressible enough to for me to stuff away on backpacking trips, so at the price of $100.00, it just didn't seem to be the right fit for my needs.

I came across the OR Helios Sun Hat at my local Sports Basement by chance, and it was a great fit. It looks a bit like a bucket hat except it has a wider brim that is quite stiff. Having hiked with it for a few weeks here is what I like and don't like:

Pro's: Lightweight, durable, inexpensive, good sun coverage, foldable, looks quite nice, dries quickly, comfortable, good sized crown.

Con's: Poor ventilation, drawstring cord placement is near ears.

With the addition of some ventilation mesh or eyelets, this hat would be near perfect for me (which I may do myself) but the 7/10 score is justified in my opinion as a hiking hat really should be providing some ventilation comfort.

Verdict: With some home modifications for ventilation, this might end up being the perfect hat!

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Join our mailing list

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
  • Youtube
  • Facebook Black Round
bottom of page