top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDarragh Kennedy

Gear Review 2: Columbia Crestwood Hiking Shoes

Updated: Aug 10, 2022




Price: $69.00 (available for less) Rating: 7/10

MM's Bottom Line: Super comfortable but will they last?

I have been a dedicated Merrell fan for quite a while. Unfortunately my beloved "Zion's" were discontinued. My wife wears the female version of the Columbia Crestwood and raves about them. They are still going strong after hundreds of miles, so I figured I would give them a try.

First off, they fit like a glove out of the box, they needed no breaking in, and 2 weeks on and 60ish miles in, they are "fine".

Pro's: Lightweight, inexpensive, waterproof (not tested), comfortable, well cushioned.

Con's: Sole seems more flexible, creating additional stress on the foot.

I don't have high hopes for these given the beating my shoes take. My Merrell's usually last about 6 months - 500 or 600 miles. (See my Zion review here). Given my single issue above regarding the sole of the shoe seeming too flexible, leads me to believe that in a short amount of time, that necessary protection will deteriorate causing my feet to feel less supported.

That said, if you are an infrequent hiker, or a weekend warrior you may find these are perfectly adequate, which I think they probably would be, and for the price, there is very good value in these shoes. I will certainly update in 6 months and time will tell as they say!

Verdict: Don't have high hopes, but for now, a super comfortable pair of shoes.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Join our mailing list

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
  • Youtube
  • Facebook Black Round
bottom of page