top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDarragh Kennedy

Gear Review: Cascade Mountain Trekking Poles

Half the price of some competitors at $54.00 here, but can be found at Costco from time to time under $30.00.




I was not sure I wanted to add poles to my set-up, but they were strongly recommended to me by so many people that, they started to catch my interest. Having done a little research I came across the brand Cascade Mountain, and they were very well reviewed. As if it were meant to be, a few weeks later I was at my local Costco, and low and behold, these were on the shelf at the price of approximately $26.00. I had to try them!


My Take


I have taken these poles on two 30 mile trips in the Sierra's with gains of roughly 3,000 & 5,000 feet respectively. Both trips had ascents/descents across tough granite trails with several steep sections, including post-holing across snow and several river crossings, where I really valued having poles. In both instances, the poles didn't budge an inch, or a millimeter to be precise. That surprised me. I personally thought I would find poles, or the concept of poles to be a little "restricting", as in, having one more thing to carry or worry about, but actually in reality, I found this not to be the case - or at least, it was not as bad as I thought it would be and actually I found them both helpful both ascending and descending as well as creating a "rhythm" as I hiked. The only thing I disliked was the canvas wrist straps, that come out or the box quite stiff, and can be irritating, but they are softening up the more I use the poles.


Frankly, but admittedly having not used more expensive poles, I don't see what the huge difference would be between this model and more expensive models aside from weight and durability (and perhaps accessories). But weighing in at 16oz for the pair (not including accessories) they are very decently light.


Speaking of accessories, are extendable/retractable making them very customizable in length, they are quick locking for adjustments, and come with the following tips: snow baskets, sand/ mud baskets, rubber boot tips, rubber tips, trekking pole clip and a carry bag. They come with cork grips that are great for lessening vibrations, and sweaty hands!


Specifications


Dimensions: Adjustable from 26-54 inches. Weight: 8 oz per pole Materials: Lightweight carbon fiber Price: Varies ($54.00 today)


Pros and Cons


Pros: Price, weight, durability, adjustability, accessories, cork handles Cons: Wrist straps need breaking in


The Final Score


9 / 10 I am now a hiking pole convert.

51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Join our mailing list

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
  • Youtube
  • Facebook Black Round
bottom of page