top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDarragh Kennedy

Gear Review: G4Free Camp Chair

Your throne awaits here @ $34.00



My Take

To chair or not to chair - that is the question (for so many backpackers). This backpacker is a resounding yes. Years ago I would have guffawed at the idea, but as I get older, I just want a few creature comforts in my pack and this makes the cut. The thoughts of sitting on a log or cold rock with no back support after a long day hiking, just isn't appealing to me!


For the sake of an extra 2lbs in my pack, I feel it is a good compromise for a little bit of luxury at the end of the day, so this goes everywhere with me. It is also really convenient for concerts, sports viewing, parks, beach days, etc., as it folds up so small. There are a ton of manufacturers making what is essentially a copy of the Helinox Chair one which costs $110.00. Although, Helinox have now come up with the Chair Zero which shaves 13 oz off the weight of the Chair One, but like most ultralight upgrades, comes at the additional expense of $130.00. I will admit, it is an upgrade I have considered making, to lighten my pack. But, here and now, I am more than content with my G4Free chair at $34.00!


The chair receives a LOT of use, from all of my family members on activities mentioned above, and all of its components are in great working order. I am not going to say it is super-comfortable - it's not. But it is WAY more comfortable than a rock! And, it is not "uncomfortable" either.

The fabric is strong, with mesh on the back and sides for breathability, and weight reduction. There is a decent little side pocket for your phone/wallet. The lightweight aluminum frame, folds up, held by an interior elastic cord. And there is a carry case, that I usually leave at home to avoid the extra ounces.


Specifications

Dimensions: 21.65"D x 12.4"W x 26.5"H

Weight: 1.9 lbs

Materials: Aircraft-grade 7075 aviation aluminum alloy, 900d Oxford cloth

Price: $34.00

Pros and Cons

Pros: Great price, decent weight, Sturdy, better than a rock!

Cons: Can be difficult to get out of.


The Final Score

9/10 for reliability and value.

45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Join our mailing list

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
  • Youtube
  • Facebook Black Round
bottom of page