top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDarragh Kennedy

Gear Review: Hard Land Down Hooded Puffy

Quality down jacket at 1/3rd the price of premium jackets - $62.00 here (with 15% subscription discount


This will keep you snug as a bug in a rug!


So, first of all, for full transparency, I retired this jacket (gave it to a friend) because I upgraded to Patagonia down jacket, which is definitely superior. BUT....


My Take


This was my first down purchase when I was upgrading my back-packing gear, and it served me admirably. It kept me warm at 10,000 feet, it kept me warm camping on a windy coast in February, and it kept me warm at 22 degrees. It is a quality build, using YKK zippers, 650 down (responsibly sourced), a nylon water repellent outer shell, and weighing in at about 15 oz. It has 2 side pockets and a chest pocket (which I loved), and like most technical down jackets, it folds into it's own pocket for storage, to a decent "cantaloupe - sized" bundle.


The fit is slightly short in length, with longer sleeves. It sat right at belt height for me and I would have preferred if it was about one inch longer.


Specifications


Dimensions: N/A

Weight: 15 oz

Materials: Nylon Wind/Water resistant shell, 650 down fill

Price: $62.00


Pros and Cons


Pros: Great price, light, packable, warm

Cons: Short Fit


The Final Score


9/10 for a budget product, 8/10 when compared to premium products (warmth)

52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Join our mailing list

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
  • Youtube
  • Facebook Black Round
bottom of page