top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDarragh Kennedy

Gear Review: Hyke & Byke Eolas 0

Keeps you warm in freezing temperatures. $215.00 here



My Take


First of all, I love this product aside from it being a mummy bag. I purchased this for my expeditions in the Sierra's where it is often below freezing and it has not let me down. While by no means "cheap" at $215.00, it is a very reasonable price for a down bag when compared to premium brands. They list the comfort level at 30 degrees, and the comfort limit at 15 degrees. I had it in the low 20's, with thermals and a puffy on and was totally fine.


While not "ultralight" at 3lbs, it is a respectable weight for a 800 fill 0 degree bag, and compresses to 7.5 x 12.5 inches - small enough to fit in most backpack bag compartments. It features YKK zippers, a cinchable hood, vertical baffles that allow the adjustment insulation to move where the fill is needed the most, and is DWR coated to repel water.


I really like this bag and do not see any need to upgrade in the future, as is the case with much budget gear.


Specifications


Dimensions: 78" long, 28" shoulders, 22" hips, 11" wide toe box

Weight: 3lb 1oz

Materials: 20d Ripstop Nylon DWR Coated, 800 FP 90% Goose Down

Price: $215.00


Pros & Cons


Pros: Light, packable, affordable, small business, warm, durable.

Cons: A little tight inside for my liking, but that makes it warmer.


The Final Score


9.5/10 - One of my best purchases.

91 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Join our mailing list

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
  • Youtube
  • Facebook Black Round
bottom of page