top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDarragh Kennedy

Gear Review: North Face TKA Fleece Mid Layer

You will never want to wear anything else! See here for $41.26.



My Take

So, like most of you, there are times when our research leads to a place where a piece of gear becomes an obsession and a must have. That piece of gear that will serve you in almost any scenario, that can be worn to work, weddings (kidding!), mountains, or putting the garbage out! For me, one of those was the Patagonia R1 Air here.

A handsome, rugged and stylish piece of technical gear that could be worn daily.


BUT - I tried it on in multiple sizes, and it just looked crappy on me.


Despondent and rudderless, I set about researching the next best option. That turned out to be the North Face TKA Glacier (snap neck). I rushed to my local Sports Basement to try one on. It was like slipping into a warm, soft cloud. So I purchased two there and then, and have since purchased another. This is a fantastic piece of gear that transverses trail & normal life, at an incredibly affordable price here. Made of lightweight recycled polyester, this 3 season mid layer delivers comfort, warmth and durability.


Weighing in at a mere 7 ounces, and costing only $42.00, while delivering 3 season alpine warmth, this piece is a miracle for what it is. It comes with me on all my trips.


Specifications

Dimensions: See here for sizes: REI

Weight: 7.4 oz

Materials: Recycled Polyester

Price: $41.26


Pros and Cons

Pros: Great price, light, packable, warm.

Cons: None.


The Final Score

10/10 - For its affordability & warmth. I want more!




70 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Join our mailing list

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
  • Youtube
  • Facebook Black Round
bottom of page