top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDarragh Kennedy

Gear Review: Therm-a-Rest compressible pillow

The closest product to a lightweight pillow from home. Find here for $53.99



My Take

I have an AWFUL time sleeping when back-packing, so much so, that I used to bring a down pillow from home on every trip. The problem was that it took extra weight, but more so, it took up extra space in my limited 55L backpack.


There are people out there who can sleep on those ultralight inflatable pillows that fold up to, and weigh absolutely nothing. If you are one of those people, good for you!


This was a product I researched extensively and it came very well reviewed from other bloggers, especially from a few who had the same issues I mention above. Well when it arrived I was cautiously optimistic, and when I actually put it to the test, I was not disappointed.


It has a soft brushed polyester cover that is very soft to the touch. Inside it is filled with expandable/compressible soft foam pieces that offer good neck support. It is available in different sizes, and compresses down to a decent size. It is also machine washable.


The pillow should be stored in its "open" state, as storing in its compressed may affect loft.


At time of review, this product seems to be widely out of stock except Amazon, and when I originally purchased it in 2020, the price was $24.95


Specifications

Dimensions: 12 x 16 x 4 open (small) 3 x 4 x 4 compressed

Weight: 7 oz

Materials: Brushed polyester & compressible foam

Price: $53.99


Pros & Cons

Pros: Light, packable, good quality, comfortable.

Cons: Bigger & heavier than inflatable alternatives.


The Final Score

9/10 - Despite it's larger size and weight, this is the most comfortable back packing pillow I have used.

111 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Join our mailing list

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
  • Youtube
  • Facebook Black Round
bottom of page