top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDarragh Kennedy

Gear Review: Toaks 550 ml Ultralight Pot/Cup

A relatively inexpensive way to shave ounces off your kit. See here at $29.99



My Take

In a world where ounces matter, this is a relatively inexpensive upgrade that I went with versus my GSI 20 oz stainless steel cup (which I will review later).


For weekend trips - two to four nights, this is the only pot I bring for all my cooking needs, with my food being either dehydrated (just add water) or pre-prepared. So this cup gets my water boiled for my meals and/or coffee and this along with my stove and utensils (To-Go Wear) represents my entire cook system for those shorter trips.


While titanium is recognized as a strong material, it is worth noting that to get a product this light, the overall integrity of the structure of the cup make it a little weak. Certainly this product does exactly what you need it to, but in my instance, having it tied to the outside of my pack and dropping my pack on the ground, bent the cup - so it is not bulletproof like my previous stainless steel version.


This product comes in a little lightweight "sock" to hold both it and the lid. The handles flip around to sit flush with the cup to reduce bulk.


Specifications

Dimensions: 3 3/4" (95mm) (Dia) (external lower straight part) x 3 1/8" (80mm) (H)

Weight: Pot only: 1.9 oz (54g), Pot with lid: 2.6 oz (72g)

Materials: Titanium (no coating)

Price: $29.99


Pros & Cons

Pros: Very lightweight

Cons: Not quite as durable as stainless steel


The Final Score

9/10 - It's main purpose is a lightweight cook system item and it does that well.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Join our mailing list

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
  • Youtube
  • Facebook Black Round
bottom of page