top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDarragh Kennedy

Tips: Buying your first set-up for your first backpacking trip.

A sub 16lb setup for under $500.00!



So - lets say you have been invited on your first backpacking trip, and you have no gear and don't know where to start then use my gear list here (scroll down) and try to borrow as much of it as you possibly can. Why? Well because gear can get really expensive really fast and if you don't know what you are getting into you can make mistakes that you might regret!


REI, Sports Basement, and other outdoor shops also offer rentals on gear, another good option. In this article I want to make the assumption that you are a newbie, with enough interest that you think you want to go backpacking with enough frequency that it is worthwhile to make the investment to kit yourself out. That's exciting! Well, I was in your shoes. After almost a decade of raising my daughter I decided to hit the trails again, only to realize that a lot had changed in 10 years and essentially my entire kit needed an upgrade. So, like you reading this, I joined forums, researched, kept spreadsheets, and set about finding the best budget gear I could find, at decent weights. Surprisingly, it is very easy to find information on "the best" gear out there, but there is significantly less information on budget gear. Why budget? Well frankly I wasn't sure that I would love backpacking as much as I do, and I didn't want to drop significant $$$'s if it wasn't something I would love doing. Now, in full transparency, I have upgraded some of my initial purchases. Why? Because, for example, I needed warmer sleeping bags, or better R-ratings on my pads, or a nicer puffy jacket, or I wanted a lighter pack, or I just felt that a Titanium cup was worth the $20.00 instead of my stainless steel cup. But when you upgrade on weight and/or performance (which is essentially the key components to building a kit), those ounces are expensive! When I compared "premium" products to budget products here there was a difference in price of $1,500 for a savings of weight of 4.5 lbs.


So I set about finding the lightest budget friendly kit that I could find, with the objective of getting a few years out of it without it becoming outdated or useless. The list below is what I would recommend to anyone in similar circumstances. I still use many of these items and/or keep them for emergency use or as loaners to friends. They all performed REALLY well - all of your basics, under 16 lbs and under $500.00! Now, there is more gear you will need - map, compass, lighter, maybe water filter, maybe bear cannister, pants, shoes, etc. But many items you can just grab from your house, rent, etc. Also, depending on climate, you may need a warmer bag, rain gear, etc. This will get you out on a local trail during the summer and have you camping happy at a good price. If you love it as much as I do, then yes, your kit will change, but for sure, this starter kit is one that will serve you well!




270 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Join our mailing list

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
  • Youtube
  • Facebook Black Round
bottom of page