top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDarragh Kennedy

Gear Review: Nemo Tensor Insulated Sleeping Pad

The price you pay for staying warm! Here for $199.95

I know, I know - this is not a budget backpacking item! Let me explain...


My Take

My Sleepingo pad serves me well (reviewed here) on single overnights near to home, and at an affordable $40.00, it is hard to go wrong. BUT, in my review I questioned it's reliability and for longer trips and colder trips it is simply not the right pad for me. So or a recent trip to the Sierra's, having had my Big Agnes AXL Insulated Pad fail on me on my last trip, I needed something reliable, warm and comfortable to get me through a few nights and sub-freezing conditions. The problem is that there is nothing in the budget market that offers the R-Values (warmth) needed, at a reasonable weight and price. (If you find one let me know and I will buy it!). So I lay on all the pads at my local Sports Basement, did my research, and the Nemo Tensor (wide) came out on top. It performed really well. Surprisingly well actually. MUCH warmer than my Sleepingo and Big Agnes, not as noisy, well made, and extremely comfortable (relatively speaking). It uses a vortex bag to inflate, comes with a carry bag and strong strip of branded Velcro to cinch it, and it all just seemed to be quality. It is protected by the NEMO Lifetime Warranty. Per the Nemo website, it features the following:


  • Spaceframe™ baffles offer unparalleled stability and weight distribution, using low-stretch, die-cut trusses that eliminate springiness.

  • A new ultra-thin film within internal architecture adds R-value.

  • Insulated models leverage 2 layers of suspended Thermal Mirror™ metallized film for a lighter and remarkably quiet sleep when compared to the competition.

  • Laylow™ zero-profile, multifunctional, micro-adjustable valve is flush to the pad and allows fine-tuning of comfort.

  • R Value of 4.2

Specifications

Dimensions: 74 x 25 x 3 inches

Weight: 19 oz

Materials: 20d Ripstop Nylon

Price: $199.95


Pros & Cons

Pros: Light, packable, warm, not noisy, quality materials and technology Cons: Price.

The Final Score

10/10 - Aside from price, this met all my requirements, kept me warm and comfortable and it is really hard to find any faults!

45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Join our mailing list

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
  • Youtube
  • Facebook Black Round
bottom of page