top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDarragh Kennedy

Gear Review: (UPDATE) Columbia Crestwood Hiking Shoes

In my first review here, being a first time user of these I wasn't too sure how well they would hold up.



Columbia is one of those brands that doesn't get a lot of love from the outdoors set, and I completely understand why - their gear tends to be less technical, heavier, and bulkier than their premium counterparts. All of that is generally true, and I favor other brands too. But, as I was thinking about this review, I thought about the other Columbia pieces I own - a rain jacket, 2 puffy jackets, and 2 fleeces. I like all of them. Are they my first choice in backpacking? No. But they are all very well made items that give me no problems and are very good value when compared to other brands. I tend to wear most of them as casual/streetwear items vs hiking items, but in a pinch and with technical flaws known, they would all serve me very well if needed in the outdoors. So in my original review, I didn't hold up much hope for these shoes - primarily because of the (low) price and my pre-conceived brand perception of Columbia. They were the most comfortable shoe I tried on, but I just figured that they would fall apart pretty soon. I was WRONG! I am hard on shoes and usually need to think about replacements every 600 miles or so before my shoes start tearing, wearing down etc. I can let you know I am 480 miles into these shoes and they still look good and perform well. My original concerns about a weaker/flexible sole were correct - these are more flexible than other brands I like - but it has caused me no foot problems and my awareness of this is minimal. Will I buy another pair - probably.

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Join our mailing list

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
  • Youtube
  • Facebook Black Round
bottom of page