top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDarragh Kennedy

Tips: Food Planning for Back Packing in Bear Country

Updated: Sep 18, 2022

The dreaded bear cannister and extra pounds of weight!


In my review of the Bear Vault BV450, I mention the (growing) number of parks that require a bear cannister when backpacking. Of course, some people also use the bear bag hanging method, but in this case I am going to discuss planning for a 4 day/3 night using a bear cannister.


Every back packer has a love/hate relationship with these. On one hand - they work! On the other hand it takes up space in your back pack, and add 2-4lbs in weight (just the cannister). Sure, they can be used as a stool, foot-rest or table, but most people find them to be an inconvenience. So with that said, how do you cram 4 days worth of food in there.


There are a million opinions on this matter out there, so let me be clear, this is just how I do it. It's not the best way - just my way. And just a reminder that the bear cannister also has to serve as the container for your trash and your toiletries, so bring extra ziplocks. Also, front-loading fresh foods helps. On the hikes I do at elevation, it is usually cold enough to keep things cool for a day or two.


This was my food plan for my last 4 day trip - my entire cook set consists of a BSR 3000T stove and a Toaks 550ml titanium cup:


Day 1. Breakfast: On the road (arrive trailhead at lunchtime)

Lunch: Trader Joes wrap

Dinner: A proper chicken burrito Snacks: Fresh fruit (For day one, you can carry your "fresh food" outside of your bear cannister since it will be eaten before you stash it, freeing up space for the food for subsequent days and you can dispose of trash at your trailhead)


Day 2. Breakfast: Bagel, cream cheese, tomato, & banana, instant coffee.

Lunch: Trader Joes wrap

Dinner: Instant rice, cooked beef slices, soy beans, green pepper slices, soy sauce Snacks: Apple slices (with lemon juice), nuts, chocolate, energy bar ( I use an empty Backpackers Pantry bag to mix the cold ingredients with the hot rice, seal it, and wait 5-10 minutes)


Day 3. Breakfast: Instant oatmeal x 2, dried fruit, coffee

Lunch: Wrap with pre-made falafel, persian cucumber, tomato, hot sauce

Dinner: Back Packers Pantry - 3 Bean Veggie Stew Snacks: Dried fruit, nuts, candy, energy bar


Day 4. Breakfast: Instant oatmeal x 2, dried fruit, coffee

Lunch: On the road

Dinner: Home


The secret here, as mentioned above is to get to your most perishable food as early as possible in your trip. Of course, everybody has different caloric needs so this plan suits my needs. I have recently starting using micro energy/calorie gel shots as quick supplements, like these or these. 100-200 calories per each pouch. I carry about 4 and only take them if I need them, which frequently I don't.


Sierra Wild, have a good article here on packing your cannister.

The NPS have a page here on why cannisters are compulsory and here on types that are approved.

50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Join our mailing list

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
  • Youtube
  • Facebook Black Round
bottom of page