top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDarragh Kennedy

Gear Review: Uco Sprout Lantern

A great piece of gear that I never use anymore! Here at $15.99.



My Take

The photo attached is my beautifully illuminated North Face Storm Break 1 tent at Coast Camp in Point Reyes, illuminated by the awesome Uco Sprout Lantern!


A fantastic little lamp that I now rarely use because I opted for the Petzl Tikkina headlamp for all of my needs!


Hiking and back-packing can be a fickle hobby that can sometimes take a while, through trial and error, to dial your kit in, and this amazing lamp was a casualty of my fickleness! My trial and error led me to a head lamp, but prior to that revelation, this piece of equipment served me perfectly well on multiple trips.


It is small, bright, lightweight and features:


  • Magnetic lanyard hanging system allows for quick attachment and removal

  • Push button activated low, medium, and high light output

  • Hold down button for seamless brightening & dimming

  • Moonlight blue and white light modes

  • Place lantern on base for traditional use, or elevate from lanyard and hang from tent, tree or other object

  • LUMENS: 100



It has a battery life of 5 hours on high and 60 hours on low - with low being adequate for my eyes to read for short periods and high being perfectly adequate to move around camp in pitch black.


Specifications

Dimensions: 4.25 x 4.25 x 2.75 inches

Weight: 2.25 oz (without 3 AAA batteries)

Materials: Plastic/Nylon/Magnet

Price: $15.99


Pros & Cons

Pros: Lightweight, multi purpose camping light.

Cons: Not as good or utilitarian as a headlamp.


The Final Score

9/10 - For what it is intended to do, it is a great product. Probably better suited to car camping.




22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Join our mailing list

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
  • Youtube
  • Facebook Black Round
bottom of page